Vedic Threads: The Course

A twice-monthly exploration of concepts that thread through Indian knowledge systems–and life in general–with a cross-disciplinary panel of practitioners

A Membership-Based Course & Community

Certain concepts–like threads–are woven throughout the tapestries of Indian knowledge systems, adorning each and harmonizing each with the others.

There are hundreds of such shared concepts. Here’s a sampling of past sessions and possible future topics:

  • prāṇa and śakti within the context of Ayurveda vs. traditional dance or martial arts
  • mantra in Vedic recitation vs. kirtan
  • rāga (desire, attachment) as both cause and cure disease
  • the four stages of life (āśramas) we each have the potential to experience
  • the four aims of life (puruṣārtha) we each have the right to pursue
  • the four stages of learning every student should undertake in order to honor and mature their knowledge: 1. study (adhīti) 2. internalize (bodha), 3. practice (ācaraṇa); 4. teach (pracaraṇa)
  • teacher (guru)
  • karma, and how this concept addresses fate vs. free will

In this course we intend to explore many of these shared concepts, and gain insight into how they are employed within various Vedic knowledge systems. 

This kind of exploration can help deepen our understanding of our chosen subject, connect us to related subjects and sometimes have a glimpse into the Oneness behind the variety. For an introduction into the interconnectedness of Vedic knowledge systems, and why this is important scroll down on the Life Map page to see a video session with Drs. Ramkumar and Welch.

Course Facilitators

Ramkumar
Claudia Welch

Schedule & Cost

Cost: 35 USD/month. If you are in need of a discount, please contact us and let us know what you can pay and we can work with you.

Upcoming Schedule:

We intend to meet on the 1st and 3rd Thursday of the month for about 90 minutes starting at 7:30pm IST / 10:00am EDT / 7:00am PDT, unless there is a reason to move the schedule, such as in order to accommodate auspicious start times or schedules of facilitators or guest presenters. (Bear in mind, after Daylight Savings Time ends in the US and parts of Europe on Nov. 6, 2022, the meeting time will remain the same in the US and change in India: 8:30pm IST / 10:00am EST / 7:00am PST.) World Time Buddy helps with sorting out time zones, so you can figure out what time this would be for you. We plan to send emails with schedule reminders or changes. In general, there will be sessions introducing a concept–often with guest instructors, alternating with study group discussions. Drs. Ramkumar and Claudia both intend to be present at all sessions. Here is the schedule of upcoming sessions.

  • Session 1:
    Wednesday, 5 Oct 2022
    6pm IST | 1:30pm London
    8:30 am EDT | 5:30am PDT

    Introduction into the interconnectedness of Vedic knowledge systems.

  • Session 2:
    Thursday, 20 Oct 2022
    7:30pm IST | 3:00pm London
    10:00am EDT | 7:00am PDT

    Introduction and group discussion of the concepts of prāṇa vs śakti.
    Both can be translated using similar terms, like “life force,” or “energy,” but they have distinct nuances.

  • Session 3:
    Friday, 04 Nov 2022
    6:30pm IST | 1:00pm London
    9am EDT | 6am PDT

    Discussion with Dr. Robert E. Svoboda and Carolina Prada on the role of prāṇa vs śakti in Ayurveda vs traditional Odissi dance and Kalaripayattu –a traditional martial arts form.

  • Session 4:
    Thursday, 17 Nov 2022
    8:30pm IST | 10:00 EST
    7:00am PST

    Group discussion on prāṇa vs śakti.

  • Session 5:
    Tuesday, 29 Nov 2022
    8:30pm IST | 10:00 EST
    7:00am PST

    Śakti, Śri Vidya & Ayurveda with Dr. Rishi Manivannan.

  • Session 6:
    Monday, 12 Dec 2022
    8:30pm IST | 10:00 EST
    7:00am PST

    Group discussion on śakti and śrī vidyā.

  • Session 7:
    Thursday, 05 Jan 2023
    8:30pm IST | 10:00 EST
    7:00am PST

    Mantra through Vedic chanting vs. Kirtan Part I:
    A discussion with Shantala Sriramaiah of vedicstudies.com and Nina Rao on what is mantra and its relationship and expression through Vedic recitation vs kirtan.

  • Session 8 of Vedic Threads:
    Saturday, 21 Jan 2023
    8:30pm IST | 10:00 EST
    7:00am PST

    Mantra through Vedic chanting vs. Kirtan Part II
    A discussion with Shantala Sriramaiah of vedicstudies.com and Nina Rao on what is mantra and its relationship and expression through Vedic recitation vs kirtan.

  • Session 9 of Vedic Threads:
    Thursday, 02 Feb 2023
    10am ET
    8:30pm IST

    Rāga cikitsa: Music as therapy Part I.
    Discussion with Dr. Shubham Kulkarni on the role of rāga (often translated as, “desire” or, “passion”) as both cause and cure of disease.

  • Session 10 of Vedic Threads:
    Thursday, 16 Feb 2023
    10am ET
    8:30pm IST

    Rāga cikitsa: Music as therapy Part II.
    Discussion with Dr. Shubham Kulkarni on the role of rāga (often translated as, “desire” or, “passion”) as both cause and cure of disease.

  • Session 11 of Vedic Threads:
    Thursday, 02 March 2023
    10am ET (New York Time) | 8:30pm IST
    World Time Buddy can help you figure out your time zone

    Reflection & Integration with Drs. Ramkumar & Claudia. We are (barring surprises) reserving the sessions this month for connecting with participants and discussing the many rich sessions we’ve had in the previous months.

  • Session 12 of Vedic Threads:
    Tuesday, 14 March 2023
    10am ET (New York Time) | 7:30pm IST
    World Time Buddy can help you figure out your time zone

    Reflection & Integration with Drs. Ramkumar & Claudia. We are (barring surprises) reserving the sessions this month for connecting with participants and discussing the many rich sessions we’ve had in the previous months.

  • Session 13 of Vedic Threads:
    Thursday, 06 April 2023
    10am ET (New York Time) | 7:30pm IST
    World Time Buddy can help you figure out your time zone

    Kalā, Rasa and Rasika: The Arts & The Lovers; with Navneet Raman; Part I

    Included in a traditional list of the 64, “arts” (kalās) of India we find, handicrafts, trades and skills like theater, painting, carpentry, geomancy, cooking, making herbal preparations, mineralogy, hair styling, etc. and fanciful, possibly endangered or extinct arts like the art of, “splashing with water,” and many more.

    Each of these kalās has a particular rasa (flavor, emotion, sentiment)—depending on the art itself, the skill and emotion of the artist, but also upon the rasika (connoisseur or lover of the particular kalā or, more precisely the emotional experience it bestows).

    Navneet Raman ji grew up in Benares, India. Throughout his childhood he was surrounded by both kalās and rasikas of India, from his father’s culinary artistry, to his mother’s daily practice of Bharata Natyam (traditional Indian dance form) to the many fine artists (like Manju Sundaram, Raja Ram Sharma, and others) and educators (like Krishnamurti) who were showering him in his life for what else could they do but shower their love for the Kalas.

    In this session, Navneet ji will explore with us an introduction to the kalās, how they are connected to, meaningful in and imbue the practicalities of life, and the importance—even urgency—of holding gently what he and others of his generation have been entrusted –and of sharing it with the next generation.

  • Session 14 of Vedic Threads:
    Thursday, 20April 2023
    10am ET (New York Time) | 7:30pm IST
    World Time Buddy can help you figure out your time zone

    Kalā, Rasa and Rasika: The Arts & The Lovers; with Navneet Raman; Part II–A Discussion

    Continued discussion on the 64, “arts” (kalās) of India, with Navneet Raman ji

Course Structure

We plan for this membership-based course to deliver two roughly 1.5 hour sessions each month, each relating to a “thread”–an idea or concept that runs through Vedic knowledge systems. For each concept or idea, we plan to:

  • Provide an overview of the concept or idea.
  • Engage in a conversation–or multiple conversations–with sincere practitioners or students of various Vedic knowledge systems, to explore what the given concept means within the context of those knowledge systems.
  • Allow time for questions, answers, discussion with class participants.
  • Record each session for those who cannot attend live.
  • Provide access to all previous Vedic Threads sessions for as long as you are a member of the course.

Registration Now Open!

This course is offered as a monthly membership at $35 USD per month.